Arizona is among one of 30 states that allow operators of a certain age to leave their helmets at home, according to consumerreports.org. (Note: Arizona is not the state with the most lenient law)
In Arizona and 19 other states, motorcycle operators 17 years and younger are legally required to wear the head gear. Florida and Kentucky are among the seven states states that mandate helmets for those 20 and younger.
Illinois and New Hampshire have no helmet laws at all, according to Consumerreports.org.
"Besides getting a ticket for not wearing a helmet in certain states, there is even more incentive—not properly protecting yourself could increase your risk of injury or even death," consumerreports.org said. "They are about 37 percent effective in preventing deaths and about 67 percent effective in preventing brain injuries from motorcycle crashes ...
"Rider fatalities have grown even more rapidly, especially compared to cars. In 2012, over 4,900 motorcyclists died on the roads -- that is, 15 percent of the total highway fatalities and an increase of 33 percent from 2003-2012."
While riding helmet-less may provide riders the sense of freedom they want, it also may well harm their chances for a recovery should an accident occur.
Most motorcycle accidents are not the fault of the motorcycle rider, but the driver of another vehicle who fails to see or notice the motorcyclist until it is too late.
Head injuries are common—more common for helmetless riders.
In Arizona, although the law does not require helmet use, given that it is a widely known fact that helmets save injuries and save lives, it is the law that the helmetless motorcycle rider may be found to be responsible for his/her own head injuries in failing to wear a helmet---even if the accident was not his/her fault. Does this change your mind?
Perhaps not, but it is a factor you should strongly consider before you decide to get on the bike and risk traffic.