And parents need to be aware it’s fairly different from what Arizona has had in place for years.
Beginning Aug. 2, any child under 8 must be in a child restraint, most likely a booster seat.
Current Phoenix Arizona law requires that children be in a safety seat such as a car seat or booster seat until age 5. After that, the law requires that they be in a seat belt.
For several years, there has been a push to put a new measure of safety in place — one that’s already been adopted by several states across the country.
According to a release from Maricopa County’s Department of Health Services, use of the “belt-positioning booster seats” lowers the risk of injury to children — those 4 to 8 — by 45 percent vs. seat belts alone.
A booster seat helps place a seat belt at the hips, rather than at the waist. Safety officials say that reduces the risk of organ or spinal cord injury in a crash.
Violators can be fined $50, but may have the fee waived if a booster seat is purchased prior to a court date. Booster seats run about $20 at most retail locations.
Among children under 5 years old, an estimated 451 lives were saved in 2004 by child restraint use. Of these 451 lives saved, 413 were associated with the use of child safety seats and 38 with the use of adult belts
Child safety seats can reduce fatal injury by 71 percent for infants and by 54 percent for toddlers, ages 1-4.
This is a great move and too bad it couldn’t be enforced any sooner. With a growing population in Arizona, means there are more drivers on the road than ever before. A Phoenix Traffic Accident can occur at anytime and this only helps protect drivers and their loved ones in vehicles.
The statistics show that many bad car accident injuries can and could have been prevented if they were properly restrained in their vehicles. This will only help keep everyone on the roads that much safe as commute daily from place to place.