The time period a person has to pursue a personal injury claim/file a lawsuit can vary greatly. This is a very important decision to make and is not always easy. The following is informational, and you should not rely on it for every possible case. ALWAYS consult with an experienced Phoenix, Arizona personal injury lawyer to help calculate your time frames.
At Zachar Law Firm, we are very careful to calculate deadlines. The following information is general information only, to give you an idea of time frames;
In Arizona, if you are injured due to another’s fault, you usually have two years from the date of the accident to file a lawsuit. However, there are exceptions:
For minors, meaning under the age of 18 years old, the statute of limitations is two years after their 18th birthday. But, that does not mean you ever want to wait that long. A decision to wait largely depends on the injuries. This is a conversation and a decision that you need to have with the experienced lawyers at Zachar Law Firm.
If you have been injured due to the negligence of a government employee (city, county, state), the deadline to act is much shorter. You must present your claim within 180 days of the incident, then, file a lawsuit within one year. The only claim against the government has such a short limitation period.
If you have been injured while on the job and have made a workers comp claim, you have only one year from the date of the incident.
If injured in an accident with someone who had no insurance or an unidentifiable hit and run driver, you can make an uninsured motorist (UM) claim. Or, after resolving your case with a driver who did not have enough insurance, you can make an underinsured motorist (UIM) claim. For each, you are required to notify your insurer of this possibility within three years of the date of the incident, then, at year three, most people have another three years to pursue the claim. (Note: This is not absolute. UM/UIM claims are based on contract and the terms vary from policy to policy. At Zachar Law Firm, we are very careful to research and know your deadline. Any questions, ask us.
If you are injured in a dog bite, you almost ALWAYS want to file within 1 year. If filed within 1 year, strict liability applies, which means the dog owner is automatically liable for your injuries. If you were attacked by a dog, please call the Zachar Law Firm today.
Remember, ALWAYS consult with an experienced personal injury lawyer to help calculate your time frames. At Zachar Law, we are experts in these matters. Call today for your no hassle, no obligation, and free consultation.